Rye The Lightning Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey | BLACKENED


BLACKENED Kentucky Straight Rye Double Cask Finished Whiskey, aptly dubbed RYE THE LIGHTNING™, is the latest limited release from BLACKENED® American Whiskey. Inspired by Metallica’s 6x platinum sophomore album, Ride the Lightning, this expression was double cask finished to its own unique playlist which is blasted to the barrels using BLACKENED’s proprietary BLACK NOISE™ sonic enhancement process.


A Limited Edition Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey, Double Cask Finished in Madeira and Rum Casks

Crafted from Kentucky straight rye whiskeys aged between 5-8 years and hand-selected by BLACKENED Master Distiller & Blender Rob Dietrich.


The double cask finishing results in notes of dried fig, hay, pinewood, pear, and rum cake on the nose, and on the palate, clover honey, mint, corn husk, sugar cane, walnut, and cinnamon.

45% ABV | 90 PROOF

Available for shipping and in-store.


Master Distiller & Blender Rob Dietrich wanted to release a rye that demonstrates his evolution on his path as a whiskey maker. One that has depth, but still sessionable, approachable and most importantly, enjoyable to drink. Designed for rye whiskey enthusiasts while establishing this particular rye recipe to uniquely stand apart from the rye whiskey mainstream. The name for this release is aptly dubbed RYE THE LIGHTNING™ because the playlist used in the BLACK NOISE sonic-enhancement process is Ride the Lightning. But Rob Dietrich and Metallica didn’t want to just use the original version — they wanted to amp it up a notch. They chose a playlist consisting solely of the Ride The Lightning portion of Metallica’s June 2012 Orion Music + More festival setlist — the one and only time the band has ever played the album live in its entirety, albeit in reverse track order from the original album.

Orion Music + More was an awesome experiment and experience. The vibe from the crowd was electrifying, and it’s really cool that we get to capture that energy in this release. We’ve used a few live songs in our playlists before, but never a full live playlist. So to be able to incorporate our fans in the BLACKENED journey and have them be a part of the whiskey-making process is really unique

Robert Trujillo - Metallica


RYE THE LIGHTNING™ was double finished in Madeira and Rum casks. It is during the rum cask finishing that the whiskey undergoes the proprietary BLACK NOISE™ sonic enhancement process that uses the low hertz frequencies from Metallica’s music to vibrate the barrels, causing a greater interaction between the whiskey and the wood, forcing the liquid further into the barrel and extracting more flavor and color. This expression has notes of brown sugar, honey, mint and hay followed by spice and wood notes from the rum cask finish.

The bottle’s label is emblazoned with a green soundwave to differentiate from the Blackened American Whiskey flagship and align with the historical significance of using the color green to characterize rye whiskey bottles.

I absolutely love the high spice and earthy notes in American rye whiskey! I wanted to play with those flavor profiles by bringing a symmetry of subtle flavor elements by combining not just one, but two different cask finishes to the whiskey, creating a complex balance of sweet and savory.

Master Distiller & Blender Rob Dietrich - BLACKENED


Fans interested in hearing this rare performance of Ride the Lightning from back to front can now enjoy a newly remixed version exclusively through BLACKENED. A copy can be downloaded by scanning this QR code.

Pour yourself a glass of RYE THE LIGHTNING™, scan the code and enjoy.

The 10-track BLACK NOISE playlist includes:

1. Ride The Lightning Intro
2. The Call of Ktulu
3. Creeping Death
4. Escape (Live Debut)
5. Trapped Under Ice
6. Kirk Solo
7. Fade to Black
8. For Whom the Bell Tolls
9. Ride The Lightning
10. Fight Fire with Fire


BLACKENED® American Whiskey’s RYE THE LIGHTNING™ is now available for pre-sale and coming to a number of retailers across the United States as well as online. Click the link below to sign up for our newsletter to find when it’s available.